302 Found

The document has moved here.


Home List of MLB Presidents and Commissioners

Like Shoot to Thrill - An AC/DC Tribute on Facebook!

An authentic tribute of AC/DC that covers the best of the Bon Scott era and the best of Brian Johnson's material

Who's Online?

We have 1096 guests online

Atom RSS

History of MLB Commissioners PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 0
Written by Maury Brown   
Tuesday, 11 March 2014 18:26

History of MLB Commissioners

Source: 2014 Green Book

Judge Kenesaw "Mountain" Landis

Years Served

1921-1944 (23 years)

Career Info

Landis was elected on November 12, 1920 for a term to last until his death or resignation. He died in office on November 25, 1944.

A.B. "Happy" Chandler

Years Served

1945-51 (6 years)

Career Info

Chandler was elected to a seven-year term on April 24, 1945 and later resigned on July 15, 1951, but agreed to serve until a successor was elected.

Ford Frick

Years Served

1951-65 (14 years)

Career Info

Frick was elected as Commissioner on September 20, 1951 and served until his retirement in 1965.

General William Eckert

Years Served

1965-68 (3 years)

Career Info

Eckert was elected on November 17, 1965 and served as Commissioner until December 20, 1968.

Bowie K. Kuhn

Years Served

1969-84 (15 years)

Career Info

Kuhn was elected for one year on February 8, 1969 before being re-elected to a seven-year term on August 13, 1969. He was again re-elected on July 17, 1975 for seven additional years before withdrawing on August 3, 1983. He was extended three times afterward to December 31, 1983, March 1, 1984 and through September 30, 1984.

Peter V. Ueberroth

Years Served

1984-88 (4 years)

Career Info

Ueberroth was elected March 3, 1984 to a five-year, three-month term commencing on October 1, 1984. He served as Commissioner through March 31, 1989.

A. Bartlett Giamatti

Years Served

1988-89 (1 year)

Career Info

Giamatti was elected as Commissioner on September 8, 1988 to begin on April 1, 1989. He died while in office on September 1, 1989.

Francis (Fay) T. Vincent, Jr.

Years Served

1989-92 (3 years)

Career Info

Vincent was named the acting Commissioner to replace Giamatti on September 2, 1989 before being elected Commissioner on September 13, 1989 to complete A. Bartlett Giamatti’s five-year term. He later resigned from office on September 7, 1992.

Allan H. (Bud) Selig

Years Served


Career Info

Named the ninth Commissioner of Baseball on July 9, 1998, by a unanimous vote of the 30 Major League Baseball club owners. Prior to his election as Baseball’s Commissioner, Selig served as Chairman of the Executive Council. (Biz of Baseball Note: Selig's term is set to expire on January 24, 2015).



Should MLB Force Jeffery Loria to Sell the Marlins?