Home List of MLB Presidents and Commissioners

Like Shoot to Thrill - An AC/DC Tribute on Facebook!

An authentic tribute of AC/DC that covers the best of the Bon Scott era and the best of Brian Johnson's material

Who's Online?

We have 798 guests online

Atom RSS

MLB League Presidents and Commissioners PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 3
Written by Maury Brown   
Tuesday, 26 February 2013 00:36

The following is collected from the MLB Green and Red Books


  • Morgan G. Bulkeley (Years Served : 1876)
  • William A. Hulbert (Years Served : 1877–1882)
  • A.G. Mills (Years Served : 1883–1884)
  • Nicholas Young (Years Served : 1885–1902)
  • Henry Pulliam (Years Served : 1903–1909)
  • Thomas J. Lynch (Years Served : 1910–1913)
  • John K. Tener (Years Served : 1914–1918)
  • John A. Heydler (Years Served : 1918–1934)
  • Ford Frick (Years Served : 1935–1951)
  • Warren C. Giles (Years Served : 1951–1969)
  • Charles S. Feeney (Years Served : 1970–1986)
  • A. Bartlett Giamatti (Years Served : 1987–March 31, 1989)
  • William D. White (Years Served : April 1, 1989–February 28, 1994)
  • Leonard S. Coleman, Jr. (Years Served : March 1, 1994–1999)

AMERICAN LEAGUE PRESIDENTS (not provided within Red Book)


Judge Kenesaw Mountain Landis
Years Served
1921-1944 (23 years)
Career Info
Landis was elected on November 12, 1920 for a term to last until his death or resignation. He died in o! ce on November 25, 1944.
A.B. Happy Chandler
Years Served
1945-51 (6 years)
Career Info
Chandler was elected to a seven-year term on April 24, 1945 and later resigned on July 15, 1951, but agreed to serve until a successor was elected.
Ford Frick
Years Served
1951-65 (14 years)
Career Info
Frick was elected as Commissioner on September 20, 1951 and served until his retirement in 1965.
General William Eckert
Years Served
1965-68 (3 years)
Career Info
Eckert was elected on November 17, 1965 and served as Commissioner until December 20, 1968.
Bowie K. Kuhn
Years Served
1969-84 (15 years)
Career Info
Kuhn was elected for one year on February 8, 1969 before being re-elected to a seven-year term on August 13, 1969. He was again re-elected on July 17, 1975 for seven additional years before withdrawing on August 3, 1983. He was extended three times afterward to December 31

Peter V. Ueberroth
Years Served
1984-88 (4 years)
Career Info
Ueberroth was elected March 3, 1984 to a " ve-year, three-month term commencing on October 1, 1984. He served as Commissioner through March 31, 1989.
A. Bartlett Giamatti
Years Served
1988-89 (1 year)
Career Info
Giamatti was elected as Commissioner on September 8, 1988 to begin on April 1, 1989. He died while in office on September 1, 1989.
Francis T. Vincent, Jr.
Years Served
1989-92 (3 years)
Career Info
Vincent was named the acting Commissioner to replace Giamatti on September 2, 1989 before being elected Commissioner on September 13, 1989 to complete A. Bartlett Giamatti’s " ve-year term. He later resigned from office on September 7, 1992.
Allan H. (Bud) Selig
Years Served
Career Info
Named the ninth Commissioner of Baseball on July 9, 1998, by a unanimous vote of the 30 Major League Baseball club owners. Prior to his election as Baseball’s Commissioner, Selig served as Chairman of the Executive Council.



Should MLB Force Jeffery Loria to Sell the Marlins?

500 - View not found [name, type, prefix]: category, php, contentView
500 - View not found [name, type, prefix]: category, php, contentView

You may not be able to visit this page because of:

  1. an out-of-date bookmark/favourite
  2. a search engine that has an out-of-date listing for this site
  3. a mistyped address
  4. you have no access to this page
  5. The requested resource was not found.
  6. An error has occurred while processing your request.

Please try one of the following pages:

If difficulties persist, please contact the System Administrator of this site and report the error below..

View not found [name, type, prefix]: category, php, contentView