font-size: 12px; } This domain runs on FORPSI servers font-weight: bold;

403 Forbidden

background-repeat: repeat-x; } line-height:20px; background-color: #FFFFFF; margin-bottom: 0px; margin-right: 0px; .sfondo_logo { .txt { font-size: 12px; text-decoration: none; background-position: left top; } } .bottom_fondo { padding-top:10px; You don't have permission to access the requested object. background-position: left center; background-color: #FEFEFE; color:black; background-image: url(/forpsi-errors/images/top_fondo.gif); a:hover { font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; text-decoration: none; } color: #FF0000; body { } text-decoration: none; font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; background-repeat: repeat-x; line-height: 13px;
background-repeat: no-repeat; line-height: 15px; .top_fondo { color: #4161a1; } margin-top: 0px; background-image: url(/forpsi-errors/images/bottom_fondo.gif); .avvertenza { color: #000000; text-decoration: none; margin-left: 0px; .sfondo_laterale { a:link { background-image: url(/forpsi-errors/images/fondo_testo.gif); background-repeat: repeat-x;
font-weight: normal;
Home MLB News SEE IT: Ron Kulpa’s Blown Call at First Base Alters Game 3 of the World Series

Like Shoot to Thrill - An AC/DC Tribute on Facebook!

An authentic tribute of AC/DC that covers the best of the Bon Scott era and the best of Brian Johnson's material

Who's Online?

We have 664 guests online

Atom RSS

SEE IT: Ron Kulpa’s Blown Call at First Base Alters Game 3 of the World Series PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 27
Written by Maury Brown   
Saturday, 22 October 2011 20:48

It seems that every World Series, there are critical blown calls by the umpires. For the 2011 World Series, Ron Kulpa’s blown call at first base in the top of the fourth inning of Game 3 from Texas, might be a defining moment.

With the Cardinals up 1-0, Matt Holliday grounded into what should have been a double-play. Instead, Albert Pujols was out at second, and Ian Kinsler's throw was wide to Mike Napoli at first base. Napoli applied a swipe tag on Holliday, and tagged him a full step before the Cardinal outfielder made it to the bag. Instead of calling him out, umpire Ron Kulpa called Holliday safe. From there, the inning went south.

Instead of two outs and no runners on, Lance Berkman cleanly singles to move Holliday to second. Freese then doubles on a sharp grounder, pushing Holliday across the plate, moving the score to 2-0.

One play can alter an inning, or a game. As of publishing, it’s 5-3 Cardinals at the end of 4 innings of play.

See for yourself if Kulpa blew the call. Not even close. Bud Selig is at the game tonight. You think he'll get asked about whether there needs to be increased instant replay in baseball?

Ron Kupla's blown call

Thanks to Daniel Matthews via Twitter

Maury BrownMaury Brown is the Founder and President of the Business of Sports Network, which includes The Biz of Baseball, The Biz of Football, The Biz of Basketball and The Biz of Hockey, and is a contributor to Forbes SportsMoney blog.. He is available as a freelance writer. Brown's full bio is here. He looks forward to your comments via email and can be contacted through the Business of Sports Network (select his name in the dropdown provided).

Follow Maury Brown on Twitter Twitter

Follow The Biz of Baseball on TwitterTwitter

FacebookFollow the Business of Sports Network on Facebook



Should MLB Force Jeffery Loria to Sell the Marlins?