Home MLB News Topps Releases MLB Rookie All-Star Team

Like Shoot to Thrill - An AC/DC Tribute on Facebook!

An authentic tribute of AC/DC that covers the best of the Bon Scott era and the best of Brian Johnson's material

Who's Online?

We have 720 guests online

Atom RSS

Topps Releases MLB Rookie All-Star Team PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 3
Written by Maury Brown   
Monday, 26 November 2007 06:47

Topps Co.The Topps Company announces the 49th annual Topps Major League Rookie All-Star Team following balloting by Major League managers.

This year’s team, which powered for a combined 149 homeruns, features five unanimous selections including N.L. ROY Ryan Braun (Brewers), Delmon Young (Rays), Chris Young (Diamondbacks), Hunter Pence (Astros) and James Loney (Dodgers).

The World Series Champion Boston Red Sox have two players named to the team including A.L. ROY Dustin Pedroia and Hideki Okajima.

The Summary:

  • 1B James Loney, Los Angeles (N.L) (98 games, 15 HR, 67 RBI, .331) – Unanimous selection
  • 2B Dustin Pedroia, Boston (139, 8, 50, .317)
  • 3B Ryan Braun, Milwaukee (113, 34, 97, .324) – Unanimous selection
  • SS Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado (155, 24, 99, .291)
  • OF Delmon Young, Tampa Bay (162, 13, 93, .288) – Unanimous selection
  • OF Chris Young, Arizona (148, 32, 68, .237) – Unanimous selection
  • OF Hunter Pence, Houston (108, 17, 69, .322) – Unanimous selection
  • C Carlos Ruiz, Philadelphia (115, 6, 54, .259)

  • RHP Brian Bannister, Kansas City (165 IP, 12-9, 3.87, 77 K, 44 BB)
  • LHP Hideki Okajima, Boston (69 IP, 3-2, 2.22, 63 K, 17 BB)

The Topps Major League Rookie All-Star team began in 1959 with Willie McCovey being the first of 15 future Hall of Famers named to the squad (others include Johnny Bench, Rod Carew, Gary Carter, Carlton Fisk, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Eddie Murray, Tony Perez, Kirby Puckett, Cal Ripken, Ryne Sandberg, Tom Seaver, Ozzie Smith and Billy Williams). The Rookie All-Stars will each have a trophy on their 2008 trading card in Topps Baseball, with Series One due out on January 28th.

The Major League Rookie All-Star Team is one of a number of awards programs managed by Topps to reward and encourage young ballplayers.  Since 1959, Topps has annually bestowed honors on minor leaguers, baseball scouts and the Baseball Organization of the Year.

Maury Brown

Maury Brown is the founder and president of the Business of Sports Network, which includes The Biz of Baseball, The Biz of Football and The Biz of Basketball (The Biz of Hockey will be launching shortly). He is also an author for Baseball Prospectus, Basketball Prospectus and is an available writer for other media outlets.

Brown's full bio is here. He looks forward to your comments via email and can be contacted here.



Should MLB Force Jeffery Loria to Sell the Marlins?